B. HUSSEIN Obama’s Pastor – G-d Damn America!

This is a man who married Obama to his wife, and who baptized his children. Here are some excerps from his church sermons.

The government gives them the drugs, builds bigger prisons, passes a three-strike law and then wants us to sing ‘God Bless America.’ No, no, no, God damn America, that’s in the Bible for killing innocent people,” he said in a 2003 sermon. “God damn America for treating our citizens as less than human. God damn America for as long as she acts like she is God and she is supreme.”

In addition to damning America, he told his congregation on the Sunday after Sept. 11, 2001 that the United States had brought on al Qaeda’s attacks because of its own terrorism.

“We bombed Hiroshima, we bombed Nagasaki, and we nuked far more than the thousands in New York and the Pentagon, and we never batted an eye,” Rev. Wright said in a sermon on Sept. 16, 2001.

“We have supported state terrorism against the Palestinians and black South Africans, and now we are indignant because the stuff we have done overseas is now brought right back to our own front yards. America’s chickens are coming home to roost,” he told his congregation.

With all the churches out there, couldn’t Obama have found one that at least doesn’t hate America? He can talk all he wants about how this pastor has done good works for poor people. But on the other hand, I’m sure there are plenty of other pastors in the South Side of Chicago that also work with poor people. No, the only reason Obama would stay at such a place is because he deep down agrees with the rants of this so-called pastor. Notice his first lame attempt at defending the man.

Sen. Obama told the New York Times he was not at the church on the day of Rev. Wright’s 9/11 sermon. “The violence of 9/11 was inexcusable and without justification,” Obama said in a recent interview. “It sounds like he was trying to be provocative,” Obama told the paper.

Oh so, if you’re not there on a particular Sunday, then all this pastor’s anti-American rants are excusable? When that didn’t work, he tried the line about Wright not being his political advisor.

As I have written about in my books, I first joined Trinity United Church of Christ nearly twenty years ago. I knew Rev. Wright as someone who served this nation with honor as a United States Marine, as a respected biblical scholar, and as someone who taught or lectured at seminaries across the country, from Union Theological Seminary to the University of Chicago. He also led a diverse congregation that was and still is a pillar of the South Side and the entire city of Chicago. It’s a congregation that does not merely preach social justice but acts it out each day, through ministries ranging from housing the homeless to reaching out to those with HIV/AIDS.

Most importantly, Rev. Wright preached the gospel of Jesus, a gospel on which I base my life. In other words, he has never been my political advisor; he’s been my pastor. And the sermons I heard him preach always related to our obligation to love God and one another, to work on behalf of the poor, and to seek justice at every turn.

The statements that Rev. Wright made that are the cause of this controversy were not statements I personally heard him preach while I sat in the pews of Trinity or heard him utter in private conversation. When these statements first came to my attention, it was at the beginning of my presidential campaign. I made it clear at the time that I strongly condemned his comments. But because Rev. Wright was on the verge of retirement, and because of my strong links to the Trinity faith community, where I married my wife and where my daughters were baptized, I did not think it appropriate to leave the church.

I guess that didn’t seem to work out either, so Obama then accused the media of cherry picking quotes of the pastor.

Q: I don’t know if you’ve seen it, but it’s all over the wire today (from an ABC News story), a statement that your pastor (the Rev. Jeremiah Wright of Trinity United Church of Christ on Chicago’s South Side) made in a sermon in 2003 that instead of singing “God Bless America,” black people should sing a song essentially saying “God Damn America.”

A: I haven’t seen the line. This is a pastor who is on the brink of retirement who in the past has made some controversial statements. I profoundly disagree with some of these statements.

Q: What about this particular statement?

A: Obviously, I disagree with that. Here is what happens when you just cherry-pick statements from a guy who had a 40-year career as a pastor. There are times when people say things that are just wrong. But I think it’s important to judge me on what I’ve said in the past and what I believe.

Hmm…me thinks Mr. Affirmative Action doth protest too much.

4 responses to “B. HUSSEIN Obama’s Pastor – G-d Damn America!

  1. Muslims Against Sharia call on Senators McCain and Obama to cut all ties with their racist, Islamophobic, and anti-Semitic supporters.

    McCain: http://muslimsagainstsharia.blogspot.com/2008/03/mccains-spiritual-guide-destroy-islam.html
    Obama: http://muslimsagainstsharia.blogspot.com/2008/03/racist-congregation-cheering-racist.html

  2. If Jeremiah Wright hates America so much, why doesn’t he leave? He says he’s a Christian who loves his enemies, but I don’t believe it. Jeremiah Wright doesn’t read the Bible I read. My Bible says that Jesus was Jewish, not black. Not that I’m against blacks, Jesus accepts people of all races, unlike Mr. Wright. (Or should he be called Mr. Wrong?) The real G-d doesn’t look at man’s countenance (meaning appearance and easily applying to race) but at man’s heart, unlike that false prophet, who hates whites. Thank G-d that false prophet is no longer preaching.

  3. check out his anti Israel sermon http://avideditor.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/barack-obamas-mentor-jeremiah-wright-anti-israel-sermon/

    Obama will be the worse thing for Israel and America

  4. Obamanation of Desolation.

Leave a Reply

