Obama’s Islamic Legislation

Barack Obama has not been completely idle in the Senate. When he wasn’t voting “present,” he did manage to throw in some Islamic legislation.

In 1997, Obama introduced an Islamic Community Day bill. (Via The Obama File)

Full Text Bill Status

Senate Sponsors:
OBAMA.

Short description:
11/1/97-ISLAMIC COMMUNITY DAY

Synopsis of Bill as introduced:
Declares November 1, 1997 to be South Shore Islamic Community
Center Day.

Last action on Bill: SESSION SINE DIE

Last action date: 99-01-12

Location: Senate

Amendments to Bill: AMENDMENTS ADOPTED: HOUSE – 0 SENATE – 0

END OF INQUIRY

In 2001, Obama sponsored Illinois Senate Bill 750 creating the “Halal Food Act,” providing for inspections by the Department of Agriculture to ensure that all food labeled Halal is prepared according to Islamic law. (Via The Obama File)

15 responses to “Obama’s Islamic Legislation

  1. I’m Jewish and I don’t understand what the problem is with an Islamic Community Day. Does this country no longer recognize the value of Separation of Church and State? I suggest you read the Qu’ran which classified Jews, Christians, and Moslems as “people of the book.” The radical fundamentalists are not the same as sects such as the Sufi.

    Do your homework. All fundamentalists are dangerous: all those who seek love and understanding strive to build a better world. Intellectualism and understanding are the cornerstone of the Jewish faith, not bigotry.

  2. Separation of Church and State is exactly why this bill shouldn’t have gone forward. The government isn’t supposed to promote any religion above another. And yet, it seems like all nations seem to have Islamic control over their governments. China banned the Year of the Pig because it was offensive to Muslisms.
    I also suggest you read the Koran, which says you must not take Christians and Jews as friends.

  3. Stella, normally I don’t care what a person’s religion is. But face it, most of today’s Jew hatred is coming from Muslim countries. So I refuse to vote for someone who lies about his Muslim background, yet believes that Hamas/Hezbollah have “legitimate” claims. Also, I refuse to vote for anyone who belonged to a black supremacist church for 20 years, and only quit when he was getting bad press. That tells me all I need to know about Obama’s character.

  4. Not left, not right - centered

    Seeing that the source of information comes from a poorly made propaganda site, I can only laugh at its crudeness and incohesiveness. I don’t understand how the Muslim world has been demonized and labeled an enemy because of some insane radical jihad fundamentalists. If this logic were applied in Christian or Jewish terms, it wouldn’t go so far. Does David Berkowitz represent the Jewish faith because he killed a series of innocent people 21 years ago? Does David Duke represent Southern Christian sentiment because he disliked Jews and Black people? Quite the contrary. See, this is because people are being programmed to fear and hate what they don’t understand. It’s a bad condition called xenophobia.
    I am a 32-year old Jewish male who vehemently supports Barack Obama. I have studied his voting record, his track record about the War in Iraq and it all adds up to the right man for the job. If you think the Wars in Iraq and Afghanistan (and soon to be Iran, if W. or McCain have their say) are making Israel a safer nation, you are wrong. The difference between Obama and McCain on foreign policy is as clear as day. Obama wants to sit down and speak with world leaders in a diplomatic fashion – like Ronald Reagan did, like FDR did. That’s the civilized and intelligence policy we need in 2009.

  5. Not left, not right - centered

    I was recently astonished by the 9/11 propaganda piece the Republican National Convention put together. This fear tactic has spread itself over the course of 7 years now, and it’s still a tool used to manipulate the average American citizen.

    We are approaching the most important election of our lives (again), and the Republicans are still getting mileage out of their fear mongery.
    I am not in support of any one candidate or any one party. You will, however, notice that I am more interested in Obama taking the wheel of this country so that he can start steering it back to a better place. I would vote for him if he was a Republican. I follow his reasoning and I believe in his sincerity. I also understand he has to play the game of politics so there are many tough lines for him to walk. I’m disgusted by the whisper campaigns about someone who I feel is a great man with a great purpose. If that makes me dumb to you, then so be it. I’m not only someone who can rail against the system, but I am someone who can provide his support for an idea, a person and a movement from time to time.

    All of that being said, I am not going to be devastated if Obama loses this election. I think that will take us one step closer to dissolving the Democratic Party. The only reason there are two major parties is because they feed off of each other while keeping more progressive parties and candidates out of the mix. If the Democrats can’t separate themselves from the Republicans enough to bring in the independent voters than they are truly worthless.

    Hell, I can align myself with many Republican ideals. I can align myself with my Democratic ideals. What I can’t do is say that either party represents the height of our potential. Neither does Ron Paul.

    I support Obama because I believe in him. I really do. I’m sorry if that upsets some of you. I think he has taken the necessary measures to get where he’s at and I think he’s more receptive to the needs of Americans than McCain.

    What I DON’T support or endorse is a fear campaign, and I’m astonished that the Republicans can still run on that platform. The media has been at fault. They are supposed to inform the public. Not stump for a political party. There was a time when people were supposed to just fall in line and submit to the will of the Bush administration. It was seven years ago today. I’d rather go to jail than forfeit my civil liberties, and my friends feel the same way.

    People need to wake up and see the environments they now live in. George Orwell provided a glimpse that turned into a stark reality. There are only two ways to go from here and if you can read between the lines and filter out all the bullshit the machine churns out, you will be educated and informed. Since when have Americans relied upon chain e-mail letters to form their opinions and understandings of people? Since fear mongering and ignorance have made high fashion.

    Sincerely yours,
    A Jew FOR Obama

  6. Not left, not right - centered

    I need to address this as I overlooked it.
    Jtfdotorg said,

    “Stella, normally I don’t care what a person’s religion is. But face it, most of today’s Jew hatred is coming from Muslim countries. So I refuse to vote for someone who lies about his Muslim background, yet believes that Hamas/Hezbollah have “legitimate” claims. Also, I refuse to vote for anyone who belonged to a black supremacist church for 20 years, and only quit when he was getting bad press. That tells me all I need to know about Obama’s character.”

    You have been hoodwinked. Barack Obama has no Muslim background, he is a proud Christian. Now even if he was Muslim, you would still not support him? That’s because you have been programmed to think that the Muslim religion is an enemy to the state. But that’s a whole other issue altogether with elements of xenophobia, racism and ignorance.

    As far as Barack Obama belonging to a “black supremacist” church? That’s how you put it, am I right? I believe you had yourself a little tasty snack-sized version of the truth.
    First, the Black Panthers – which were the primary Pro-Black organization of the 1960s and 1970s dissolved in the 1980s due to mutual pressures from the CIA and Washington lobbyists. The incidence in which you base your understanding had more to do with a minister who made some controversial political remarks during a sermon in a very conventional very non-denomination church. The Obamas are still members of that church. His oldest daughter has performed with the choir and has participated in goodwill programs in Chicago neighborhoods. Obama simply denounced said minister and has distanced himself from him. You made a mention that Barack Obama believes the Hamas organization and Hezbollah have “legitimate claims…..”
    I believe you, my friend have legitimate claims as well. I just strongly disagree with them.

  7. Check out this t-shirt I just found online…a very intelligent argument against Obama and you can wear it! 🙂

    http://www.StopTheNaivety.com

  8. Not Left, Not Right, Centered makes an intelligent, cohesive case for support of Obama and the anti-Obama crowd’s case consists of spinning Rep. Cohen’s comment (It’s an analogy, people, he didn’t “liken” Obama to Jesus.)and trying to make Carl Rove a few more bucks by buying a T-shirt, which is fitting, because conservatives arguments are as deep as the thickness of their bumper stickers.

  9. “Does David Berkowitz represent the Jewish faith because he killed a series of innocent people 21 years ago? Does David Duke represent Southern Christian sentiment because he disliked Jews and Black people? Quite the contrary.”

    The difference is, though, the Bible doesn’t promote these actions in any way. The Koran, on the other hand, says

    Sura [4.74]: “Therefore let those fight in the way of Allah, who sell this world’s life for the hereafter; and whoever fights in the way of Allah, then be he slain or be he victorious, We shall grant him a mighty reward.”

    Sura [9.29]: “Fight those who do not believe in Allah, nor in the latter day, nor do they prohibit what Allah and His Apostle have prohibited, nor follow the religion of truth, out of those who have been given the Book, until they pay the tax in acknowledgment of superiority and they are in a state of subjection. [9.30] And the Jews say: Uzair is the son of Allah; and the Christians say: The Messiah is the son of Allah; these are the words of their mouths; they imitate the saying of those who disbelieved before; may Allah destroy them; how they are turned away!” and similar things.

    “I have studied his voting record, his track record about the War in Iraq and it all adds up to the right man for the job.”

    Are you familiar with the fact that Obama voted to legalize the killing of babies who were born as a result of surviving an abortion? How does infanticide mean he’s the right man for the job.

    “The difference between Obama and McCain on foreign policy is as clear as day.”

    I agree.

    “Obama wants to sit down and speak with world leaders in a diplomatic fashion – like Ronald Reagan did, like FDR did.”

    The problem is, the radical Muslims want to kill us. When was the last time we tried to negotiate with someone who wanted to kill us? Remember Neville Chamberlain and Hitler?

    “I follow his reasoning and I believe in his sincerity.”

    At the Saddleback forum, Obama said he wanted to reduce late-term abortions, when in reality, he was against legislation that banned killing infants out of the womb. That doesn’t sound like integrity and sincerity to me.

    “I support Obama because I believe in him. I really do. I’m sorry if that upsets some of you. I think he has taken the necessary measures to get where he’s at and I think he’s more receptive to the needs of Americans than McCain.”

    The thing I wonder, is why? People talk about how he has character, but I haven’t seen it.

  10. Not left, not right - centered

    JKnight, about the verses from the Q’uran you quoted:

    The thing about holy scriptures and any biblical phrasing is that it is wildly open to interpretation. Nowhere in the parts you have quoted does it state that Americans should be eradicated or that followers of the Muslim religion need to destroy the enemy – America.

    You will find many other loose manifestations of a religion’s texts wherever you go. The point I was making is that a group of nuts cannot determine the perspective on the religion they take up. If you do that, then you have to dissect the New Testament as well and the whacko offshoot religious sects that have been created in its existence.

    The fact is that the Muslim religious community as a whole have suffered much because the Neo-Cons have carelessly grouped the radical extremists in there with them. There’s been a completely new brand of racism in the last 7 years and it’s perfectly indicative of their plan to program people to believe that it has always been an us versus them mentality. Which has never been more false. Another installment in the ends justify the means agenda. It’s sickening. Not just to me, but to many people in this great nation.

    In closing, if you haven’t yet bear witness to the character Barack Obama has, you will on September 29th.

    The problem is, the radical Muslims want to kill us. When was the last time we tried to negotiate with someone who wanted to kill us? Remember Neville Chamberlain and Hitler?

    “I follow his reasoning and I believe in his sincerity.”

    At the Saddleback forum, Obama said he wanted to reduce late-term abortions, when in reality, he was against legislation that banned killing infants out of the womb. That doesn’t sound like integrity and sincerity to me.

    “I support Obama because I believe in him. I really do. I’m sorry if that upsets some of you. I think he has taken the necessary measures to get where he’s at and I think he’s more receptive to the needs of Americans than McCain.”

    The thing I wonder, is why? People talk about how he has character, but I haven’t seen it.

  11. “Nowhere in the parts you have quoted does it state that Americans should be eradicated or that followers of the Muslim religion need to destroy the enemy – America.”
    You are correct that the parts I quoted don’t refer to America. I was under the impression they referred to Jews and Christians in general.
    “The thing about holy scriptures and any biblical phrasing is that it is wildly open to interpretation.”
    If you interpret fighting as something other than open warfare, be my guest. But those who do are a threat.
    “The fact is that the Muslim religious community as a whole have suffered much because the Neo-Cons have carelessly grouped the radical extremists in there with them.”
    Some have, some haven’t. George Bush on Islam, in his own words:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nan2PC_-rxk
    Although I personally disagree with Bush on this one, he did say these things: http://www.wnd.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=58026
    In this interview, Palin said that there are a small number of radicals: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z75QSExE0jU
    You didn’t really explain what about his reasoning and voting record you liked. (Especially since the former affects the latter.) In addition, he has lied, which makes me wonder about the sincerity part.

  12. “I’m disgusted by the whisper campaigns about someone who I feel is a great man with a great purpose.”
    Question is, why do you feel he’s a great man, and he has a great purpose?
    “I am someone who can provide his support for an idea, a person and a movement from time to time.”
    I’m not going to argue with that. You have been more literate than the bulk of Obama supporters on this site.
    “The point I was making is that a group of nuts cannot determine the perspective on the religion they take up.”
    Perhaps, but isn’t a growing group of nuts dangerous?

  13. NOT RIGHT NOT LEFT………….YOU MUST BE AN ATTORNEY…….THEY ALWAYS MAKE INSANE THINGS OR IDEAS SOUND SANE……….OBAMA IS WHAT HE IS ……MAYBE YOU NEED TO DO MORE RESEARCH ON YOUR CANDIDATE AND I SAY THAT NICELY….AYERS… PELOSI ..BARNEY FRANKS…COX….REZKO….THE MAN WHO IS MUSLIM WHO PAID FOR OBAMAS HARVARD TUITION….THE CONNECTION FROM HIM TO THE BLACK PANTHER GUY …..I WOULD HAVE TO GO BACK AND GET THE NAME …..TO THE SAUDI FAMILY WHO ALSO CAME TO VIEW 9/11 AND OFFERED NEW YORK 10 MILLION AND RUDY SAID HELL NO……THESE PEOPLE CAN BE TRACED BACK …THEY HATE JEWS …..AND ALL INFEDELS….US…GO TO THE DRUDGE REPORT JEWS AGAINST OBAMA…….THEY MAKE A HELL OF A FIGHT FOR THIS ……..OBAMA IS CONNECTED TO ANOTHER WOMAN NAMED JARETT …..BORN IN IRAN …….AND HE WANTS TO TALK TO IRANIAN LEADERS…….I WOULD ERROR ON THE SIDE OF CAUTION…..RATHER THANBE WITH A PERSON WHOSES PEOPLE AROUND HIM REPRESENT ALL THINGS ANTI AMERICAN………NO MATTER WHAT YOUR RELIGION….I WAS MARRIED TO A JEWISH MAN ….I AM NOT JEWISH ….I KNOW THEIR FEAR…….AND IT IS A GOOD HEALTHY ONE….FEAR IS NOT A BAD THING ….IT LETS US KNOW TO MOVE OUR BODIES AWAY FROM DANGER AND HARM….DONT CHA THINK?????>? TRY DRUDGE REPORT…..LATER

Leave a Reply

